Twists: Should I or shouldn’t I?

Standard

Okay so I have been fully natural for almost 2 years in May. I have done plenty of twist-outs but I cannot find the strength to wear the twists in public.

 Last night I spent 2 hours twisting my hair and told myself that tomorrow would be the day I would wear them out to work. When I woke up in the morning and took off my bonnet…Honey I looked about 12! No way no how! I am currently wearing a twist out that I had to pin up. Maybe I am doing the twists wrong but they are just too thin for me.

Twist Out top view.

My natural curls are too curly and the twists look like 2 curls that have wrapped around each other. I want plump twists. I guess I will have to Henna and see what my hair does after that. Maybe it will thicken up some. Maybe I wasn’t meant to have thick hair.

 

Do you wear your twists out or am I the only one to have this problem? What products can I use to get plump twists?

 

Mt twist out

About Kaniece

I am a 26 year old mother and natural. I have been natural for about 18 months after a 12 month transition. I am always looking for new ways to help my hair grow along with my 3 year old natural daughter.

6 responses »

  1. I did twist outs and they did not turn out right. Recently, I came across Emily Cotton Top, she has a blog and FB page. She said she used ecostyler gel and put coconut oil in it. So I tried it, but I added the following; coconut oil, jojoba oil, castor oil and grapeseed oil. I did not measure anything, just poured in the ecostyler jar and stirred with my comb. I applied to wet hair and I had the fluffiest twist out. Used it on 2 day hair and re-twisted and had the same results. I am hooked on her method!!! Give it a try!

      • What products are you using now? I have Oyin Shine and Define that I plan on using tonight to make a twist out. I’ll have to post pics of my process and results.

      • I use kimmay leave in but I substitute giovanni leave in, then I use the ecostyler gel mixed with oils and twist on wet hair. I love the results. Before I hated twist outs lol.

Leave a Reply

